Gorillaz drop two new tracks, announce new album (Music Insight)

Legendary virtual band Gorillaz are back, dropping two tracks and announcing a new record, The Now Now.

After releasing their fifth record Humanz last year, Damon Albarn and company have followed up quickly with their next project.

Set for release on June 29, The Now Now looks to be more concise than it’s predecessor, with eleven tracks and the likes of Snoop Dogg and Jamie Principle listed as collaborators.

Along with the album announcement was the release of two tracks, ‘Humility’ featuring jazz guitarist George Benson, and ‘Lake Zurich.’

The latter (listen here) is a dance-based track with a funky, instantaneous groove and jabbing synths reminiscent of Plastic Beach.

‘Humility’ however takes the band in a more jazz pop/beach pop style, that sounds more upbeat compared to the tracks on Humanz. The lyrics however, point to a more sinister undertone.

‘Humility’ also comes complete with the new project’s first music video. Filmed on Venice Beach in California, it features a couple of notable animated and live-action celebrity cameos.

Click here to pre-order the new album, and you can listen to ‘Humility’ below.

Originally Published in Music Insight, June 6th, 2018. Read Here.

Recent Posts
Follow Me
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Instagram App Icon
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • LinkedIn - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • YouTube
  • Pinterest - White Circle

© 2020 by Nicholas Wasiliev.  All Rights Reserved.

Disclaimer: All articles showcased on this website are purely-based off the author's personal opinion. Additionally, any characters expressed in any creative stories are purely fictitious, and do not aim to draw parallels to any individuals, either alive or deceased.